Travel
Leave a Comment

Street Art – George Town, Penang Island, West Malaysia

Penang Island is part of Western Malaysia, and was the first stop on my trip travelling solo. If I completely honest, I did not do my research and knew I didn’t want to go to Kuala Lumper again so just picked the next biggest city on the map. My over all impression of Penang, gave me the same uneasy feeling I felt in Kuala Lumper, magnified by the fact I was travelling alone, and also doing my research a bit late in the day.

In transit in Singapore airport I typed into Google ‘Penang this week’ and was happily greeted by this wonderful story an hour before I was to board my flight…

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/46-murders-in-penang-since-january-cops-set-up-special-team

…oh dear. Throw in a massive Irish goodbye session the day before, and couple with the amount of heckling I received from men on my first day (it will have to be another post), I was all about ready to repack my bags and fly back Down Under. On my second day I found the strength somewhere to go and have a wander and I am so glad I did.

The UNESCO World Heritage city of George Town has possibly the best, most creative and  versatile collection of street art I have ever seen. The street art are either in the form of installations or mural paintings, and seem to pop up so unexpectedly around every little corner you meander. Murals vary in size and style, with most installations being wrought-iron pieces depicting the history of the area, and the street which they are on.

Installation, Wrought Iron Pieces, Off Love Lane, Georgetown

Installation, Wrought Iron Pieces, off Love Lane, Georgetown

Installation, Wrought Iron Pieces, Off Chulia Street, Georgetown

Installation, Wrought Iron Pieces, off Chulia Street, Georgetown

Installation, Wrought Iron Pieces, Off Love Lane, Georgetown

Installation, Wrought Iron Pieces, off Love Lane, Georgetown

Some, more famous ones are both installation, and mural where you can become part of the art!

Me and the mural 'Brother and Sister on Swing', Step by Step Lane, George Town

Me and the mural ‘Brother and Sister on Swing’, Step by Step Lane, George Town

The more famous ones are on Lebuh Armenian, of course I don’t have pictures of these ones! I went there in the afternoon when it was really busy, and there were queues to take photos, and if anyone who knows me, knows I don’t do queuing (Princess or Impatient?).

I found this handy Google search which shows where everything is on Google Maps. https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?mid=zfP8JNnikALg.kaUN6WQlZsuE&msa=0 I still wonder at the futuristic world we live in these days! My tip, and I think it is more fun,  to  just wander around by yourself, in the mornings, and see what you can find. The best part being it is a completely free activity! Yay! Love free stuff!

C x

Leave a Reply

